2019-04-22 17:10

Robert du Preez (Gallo Images)

Robert du Preez (Gallo Images)

Durban – The Sharks have named their 27-man touring squad for a three-week Australasian tour. 

Head coach, Robert du Preez has opted to take 16 forwards and 11 backs on tour. 

Du Preez will be desperate for an improved showing from his charges following back-to-back home losses against the Jaguares and Reds. 

The tour opener will be in Parramatta against the Waratahs, before the team heads over to New Zealand to take on the Crusaders and finally the Chiefs before returning home. 

Sharks touring squad:


Akker van der Merwe, Coenie Oosthuizen, Daniel du Preez, Hyron Andrews, Jacques Vermeulen, Jean-Luc du Preez, John-Hubert Meyer, Tendai Mtawarira, Thomas du Toit, Tyler Paul, Mzamo Majola, Ruan Botha, Kerron van Vuuren, Philip van der Walt, Luke Stringer, Ruben van Heerden


Andre Esterhuizen, Curwin Bosch, Aphelele Fassi, Cameron Wright, Louis Schreuder (captain), Lukhanyo Am, Makazole Mapimpi, Marius Louw, Robert du Preez, Sbu Nkosi, Kobus van Wyk

Prop, Juan Schoeman was not considered for the tour due to picking up an MCL injury in the match against the Reds.

The Sharks team to play the Waratahs will be announced on Thursday.

They will follow those fixtures up with two ties against the Crusaders and Chiefs.

Read More


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here